Spec-Net Building Index
Australian Interior Design Awards

Australian Interior Design Awards 2014 Entries Now Open

park house

Celebrating a new decade of interior design excellence.
Supporting the very best in Australian design.

Entries are now open for the 2014 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Established in 2004 to promote excellence and achievement in interior design, the Australian Interior Design Awards are co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, the professional body representing Australian designers, designEX and ARTICHOKE magazine - all leaders in their field with solid and respected credentials.

The awards are both nationally and internationally significant. Any Australian based design professional may enter - whilst projects may be located anywhere in the world. Entries are encouraged from individuals, groups, partnerships and those working in larger practices and include interior designers, interior decorators, interior architects, architects and all other design professionals.

Over 10 years, the awards have evolved into Australia's most prominent and well regarded vehicle for recognising professional interior design, helping to establish careers of many prominent Australian designers by awarding some of the most innovative projectsacross retail, workplace, public, hospitality, residential and installation design categories.

"Even after 10 years, the projects entered, year on year continue to inspire. The calibre of entries showcased in the Australian Interior Design Awards are at the forefront of Australian design and often garner international recognition as well," says event manager Jacinta Reedy. "The awards are a wonderful opportunity for the profession to acknowledge and showcase the best projects from both emerging talents and established practitioners."

Online registrations for the 2014 program are now open at www.australianinteriordesignawards.com Entries can be submitted online until February 12, 2014 for projects completed between September 1, 2012 and December 31, 2013.

Once again, the judging panel for the 2014 Australian Interior Design Awards brings together some of the leading innovators and practitioners in the Australian design scene, which include commercial interior designers, residential interior designers and architects. Jurors are appointed on the basis of their practical expertise, professional standing and high profile.

This year's jury comprises Susanna Billardo, Director, Enoki (SA), Matthew Blain, Principal, Hassell (NSW), Hamish Guthrie, Director, Hecker Guthrie (Vic), Victoria Judge, Associate, Smart Design Studio (NSW), Paul Kelly, Director, Paul Kelly Design (NSW), Geraldine Maher, Principal, Jackson Architecture (Vic), Ryan Russell, Director, Russell & George (Vic) and Christina Waterson, Principal, Christina Waterson Studio (Qld). John Gertsakis, Infoactiv Group (Vic) is the Sustainability Advisor and Joanne Cys, Associate Professor in Interior Architecture, University of SA is the Jury Convenor.

Award categories are:

  • Premier Award, Interior Design Excellence and Innovation
  • Sustainability Advancement Award
  • Residential Design
  • Residential Decoration
  • Retail Design
  • Hospitality Design
  • Workplace Design
  • Public Design
  • Installation Design
  • Best of State Awards for Commercial Design
  • Best of State Awards for Residential Design
  • Best International Design

Award Key dates:

11 November 2013 - Entries open
12 February 2014 - Entries close
14 March 2014 - Shortlist published online
16 May 2014 - Winners announced

The awards are supported by corporate partners Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux, Laminex, Smeg, Space and ISIS.

To register online go to: www.australianinteriordesignawards.com

2013 overall winner of australian interior design award

03 8699 1000

c/- Architecture Media, Level 6, 163 Eastern Road, South Melbourne, Vic, 3205




03 8699 1000




Related News Articles